Excuses are just excuses

Today I couldn’t find the National Park Pass ($25/year entrance pass) so I couldn’t go to my wind whipped desert writing location.

Dear Husband got a little freaked out when he realized I really was going to be gone four hours a day.

My stomach is still testy.

But, perseverance is one of my strongest traits.  I found a new spot to park the mobile writing studio, drank Gatorade and Keopectate and negotiated with Dear Husband.

So, there I was in the mobile writing studio, sliding door half open- letting in the warm sunny breezes while parked on the side of the old Volcano Highway, and I finished the first read-through revision.  Yippee!

With the distant sounds of cars on the new Volcano Highway (neither are actual highways, just a new road and an old one) and the sweet  sounds of songbirds, I planned the next revision and studied plot charting.

Still only able to eke out three hours again today,  I will do at least three or more tomorrow.  Promise.

Tomorrow’s plan:  Take the eldest to the bus stop at 6 AM and write from 630-1030 AM.  This will make it easier on the Dear Husband and kids because I’ll be gone during the “fresh hours” and my writing might be fresher too.

Writing notes:  Weekend Novelist is a helpful guide to plotting, even if you write on weekdays.  Currently at 166 pages, didn’t check word count.  Planning to work through revision #2, following a tight plot line and working the characters out as we go along.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Song birds and the mobile writing studio really got to me. Okay, the Hawaii thing, too. No wonder you’re inspired to write! Good for you!

    1. mskriswolf says:

      Thanks! It is a beautiful spot. One of these days I’ll take a picture.

  2. mskriswolf says:

    Yes. See my next post!

  3. Lori says:

    Home by 10:30 and 4 hours of work already in. Sounds like a plan!

Leave a Reply

