Routines will save you

Last night my DH went hunting, which means he wasn’t home at 550 AM when I dropped Eldest at the bus stop.  Luckily Littlest and MS were up and ready to go with me.

Then we came home, made some food (delicious egg, onion, green pepper and cheese omelets) and coffee and played until 730 AM when DH got home.

Then I hung out with him until 830 AM when he shoo’ed me out the door saying,

If you don’t start soon, you’ll never be done!”

I was so touched by his commitment to my writing, his expectation that I would do it no matter what, his growing belief that  writing is a job for me.

I didn’t tell him that there was a little bird on my shoulder telling me to take the day off, stay home, kick back.

Lucky for me because as soon as I left the house (even though Littlest was trying her best to dissuade me) I was ready to write.

This is what routines do for us.

Writing notes: Finished three new scenes and did a bunch of light revision on some others.  I saw a man working in his van for about an hour!

Hawaii notes: Too late for nene, but I did see some white sea birds.

http://www.alohafriendsphotos.com/birds.html

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Erika says:

    Glad you got to write yesterday! how is the garden doing? we only have lettuce and onion, but they make yummy salads each night! we are ready for the sweet corn that should be coming to our local market stand SOON! the weather has been great so we are hoping its early this year! Heading out to pick up the girls at swim practice. LOVING having practice done by 9am! Gives us the rest of the day to do WHATEVER! How is your other book coming? did you actually start it while Vera was missing??

    1. mskriswolf says:

      Garden is great. We’re eating lettuce, mustard greens and strawberries from it. Hoping to be eating brussels sprouts, corn, blueberries, zucchini, tomatoes, and carrots soon!

  2. DH says:

    Why, hello darling…if only i had known..i would have encouraged you to stay home so i could sleep..oh, the suffering I must endure for your art, oh my..

Leave a Reply

