Six ways get the most writing done this week

To prepare suck the most writing time out of the upcoming week, I plan to:

1) Get up at *4 AM*. If I can’t manage to do it everyday this week, I will at least do it tomorrow and Tuesday because I have to work 830-300.  It would be cool though, to find out I can be productive that early (and for that long, because, I do have to work whether I’m home or at work.  You know, housework, Motherwork, gardenwork, chef.)  This could be good practice for the coming school year.  How far will I go to get this book written?

2) Meet with my writing group to work out some plot points, work on showing character’s moods in their actions (check out thebookshelfmuse.blogspot.com), eat, drink and be merry.  I hope to find about 24 hours this week with the group (maybe Weds-Thurs?)  Can’t do it this weekend- camping is on the agenda!

3) “Blog about it, Blog about it, Movin” (Think Funkytown)  I’ll keep on blogging about my efforts because it makes me feel that I have an audience- other humans on the planet who know what I’m doing and encourage me to continue. This is one of the difficulties of writing- you don’t have “readers” until you are published in print.  Technology is helping to change that, but I’m still not posting chapters.  They’re not technically ready to be posted.  But it helps me to keep on keepin’ on by knowing YOU are reading.  For more about the value of an audience- Have you read Nathan Bransford’s blog about why it’s so hard to know if our writing is good yet?

4) Keep on reading mysteries and books about how to write mysteries.  I’ve always been one of those people who will readily refer to a book about any possible issue in life.  Here are some of the topics I have on my shelves: writing, publishing, parenting, education, deaf studies, health, sex, guitar and ukulele playing, spirituality, cooking, hiking, gardening, finances, and building.  I never have enough time at the library to do a thorough search- three year olds can only be entertained quietly for so long in the grownup Fiction section.  I started searching on the online library site and discovered how to request books from libraries all over the state.  I’ll do a blog soon about these excellent resources.   I’m standing on the shoulders of the great mystery writers who have shared so many pointers with me.

5) Keep the faith, keep smiling, eat well and walk when I can.

6) When I’m with my family or when I’m writing, or when I’m working, stay in the moment, do what I’m doing, while I’m doing it and do it well.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lori says:

    Mornings can be great for work–if you can continue to function for the rest of the day! Good luck!

    1. mskriswolf says:

      So far so good. It is now five am on day two. We’ll see how long I can function today!

Leave a Reply

