Week Two: I can do this!

When we’re running home from preschool, my three year old Littlest says, “You can do this Mommy!!”

And when I’m tired and busy with minutiae with no time for writing, I say to myself, “You can do this!!” in her cute little voice which is so full of confidence and positivity.  I think I can, I think I can!

I have almost met my goal for this week (finish the current Kindle read through).  I am reading the final chapters and can’t wait to see what happens.  Rereading what I write is kind of fun after I’ve been away from it for a while because I can happily pretend I just downloaded it and don’t know the ending.  Yes, one has to suspend some disbelief, but it’s doable.

This week’s goal is almost met which leads to next week’s goal of fixing up all the things I’ve  discovered during this read through.  Yes, there are quite a few rewrites needed, especially in that middle to end section.

But I’m really looking forward to the 9/20 goal of having it read by some First Readers.  Since the cool people at Createspace.com can create a book like version of my book for $3.50, I’m toying with the idea of buying four or five printed copies for a few select people who I know can give me great feedback on what else needs to be changed.  I’ll definitely give copies to my Writing Group, but I was wondering if any of my loyal blog minions would like to be First Readers.  If you do, send me an email, a facebook message or a comment.  Thanks!!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Erika says:

    I’d like to read it, but I”m not a professional writer… does that leave me out??

    1. No, do you like mysteries? For non-mystery readers, i was thinking I could include a list of genre specific conventions for you to watch for.

      1. Erika says:

        yes. i like mysteries. i really like to read all kinds of stuff. I would like to read it and I can do whatever you would like help with. just tell me what to do!

      2. Thanks Erika..you rock! You are my only “first reader” so far!

  2. dj says:

    yep, time and someone else’s external voice. For example, your suggested topic helped me earlier too.

    1. Yippeee!! Was that an ode to Writer’s group?? :))))

Leave a Reply

