write/inspiration

What makes you write or create whatever art form you create?

Can you break it down,  dissect it?

I have some theories about my many muses, but it is hard to pin down to just one –

First, it seems that I love to communicate.  My writing group has been my greatest sounding board for the past eleven years and sharing my thoughts, experiences and stories with the three of them has been a constant source of writing urge. There were weeks when I wrote to have something to take to group and weeks when I finished drafts to have something polished to critique.  I am forever in their debt for any growth I’ve made in my craft, they looked at so many versions of too many of my pieces.  And they never whined, at least not out loud!

Second, I love the physical action of writing.  I sometimes try to think without a pen or keyboard in my hand and find it daunting.  I actually think better when writing.  Would that be called kinesthetic/linguistic? It makes me feel good.

Third, I love the reactions of an audience.  Today I reworked a little story I’ve been kicking around for more than ten years to try to give it more of a punch.  Why?  Well, there’s a little “story slam” coming up at the beloved Volcano Art Center and I need some material that will make the audience laugh.

Fourth, some sort of creative urge. I’ve only created one of my kids (from scratch, I  mean) and I feel like I have a lot of creating left in me.  Is that weird?

What makes you create?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I enjoy writing fiction because I love to join my characters in their world—a world I’ve created to suit myself.

  2. One of the things I love about writing is leaving the real world for a while and entering the fictional world of my characters. I find it therapeutic.

  3. dj says:

    Of course there’s wining in the critique group! And if you’re weird, I’ll never be lonely.

  4. Oh, nice expression tsuchigari! “I can start writing and feel it bleed from me.” So true! How much time do you currently devote to it?

  5. tsuchigari says:

    Big question! I love the feeling of completing a project and being able to say I did it. The bigger the project the better. Writing has always been cathartic for me, if I’m stressed or having a rough day I can start writing and feel it bleed from me. I just wish I had more time to devote to it!

    1. tsuchigari says:

      I try to get in around an hour a day for my manuscript, less on weekends. Blogging takes around 2-2.5 hours a week as well. November I plan on participating in NaNoWriMo so the manuscript time will double and the blog time will have to be much less.

Leave a Reply

