National Novel Writers Month: NANOWRIMO

nano_10_winner_240x120-7

In 2010, my writing buddy, Jackie Marilla and I decided to try this NaNoWriMo thing.  I wrote a mystery novel that had some great parts and some other parts where I rambled on and on trying to get up to 50,000 words (1,666 words per day!)

It taught us one very important lesson: we could write a full length piece!  We both “won” which just means that we finished all 50,000 words.  You don’t really win anything except the honor of finishing and the great camaraderie of the other writers.  There are web groups and live groups, parties and writing parties.  Depending on where you live, you can participate in a lot of events.

Recently, I discovered that several of my friends are NaNoWriMo-ing next month.  I’m toying with the idea since I’ve been planning my new WIP (Work in Progress) since June and I’m anxious to get another romance up and published.

Here’s my advice to anyone thinking about it:

  1.  1,666 words per day isn’t too bad, but try to get big numbers written on days you don’t have to work so you don’t have so much to do each day.
  2. PLAN!  I HIGHLY recommend using the “Outlining Your Novel Workbook” by Weiland.
  3. Gather some other people to write with who are also NaNoWriMoing because they’ll understand your pain and share your chocolate!

Let me know if you’re going to do it!!

Happy Writing!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Kellie. The important thing is to let go and just write write write. I used a website called Writeordie.com as a timer to push myself.

  2. Hey Kellie.

    Happy Friday! Do you have a plan? Do you have an idea? The key is not to stop writing. You just GO and Go and go…..It’s amazing what comes out of my mind! But this year, I’m starting with a huge plan. The hugest plan I’ve ever had.

  3. I’m still undecided…I like your advice about big numbers on non-work days, I will still have to go to my job so I’m concerned about being able to meet the word count.
    Oh, and chocolate, great advice about the chocolate 😉

    1. Hi Kellie!!

      Have you ever done it before? If you can find an equally dedicated writing partner it is LOADS of fun! Even if you don’t finish all 50,000 words, you can still get a lot of positive energy on the path to a novel or novella/novelette. I just published my first romance and it’s only 12,000 words. So, I’m ready to get my next one rolling. Have you written anything longer?

      1. Hi Kristin, no I have never done it before and I haven’t written anything longer! I tried to draft some blog posts yesterday in a similar fashion, gave myself 2 hours but only got 1,100 words out! I signed up so we’ll see!
        Thanks for the encouragement, I like that your romance was 12,000 words, gives me a lot of hope 🙂

Leave a Reply

